Download PDF version

SAC 2011 Call for Papers

August 11-12, 2011
Toronto, Ontario, Canada

The Workshop on Selected Areas in Cryptography (SAC) is an annual conference dedicated to specific themes in the area of cryptographic system design and analysis. SAC 2011 will take place on August 11 - 12, 2009, at Ryerson University, Ontario, Canada.

Authors are encouraged to submit original papers related to the themes for the SAC 2011 workshop:
1. Design and analysis of symmetric key primitives and cryptosystems, including block and stream ciphers, hash functions, and MAC algorithms.
2. Efficient implementations of symmetric and public key algorithms.
3. Mathematical and algorithmic aspects of applied cryptology.
4. Cryptographic tools and methods for securing clouds.

Submissions must not substantially duplicate work that any of the authors has published elsewhere or has submitted in parallel to any other journal, conference, or workshop that has proceedings. Information about submissions may be shared with program chairs of other conferences for that purpose. Accepted submissions may not appear in any other conference or workshop that has proceedings.

The proceedings will be published in Springer-Verlag's Lecture Notes in Computer Science (LNCS) Series. As in previous years, the workshop record will be available to participants during the workshop. Instructions about the preparation of a final proceedings version will be sent to the authors of accepted papers.

Important dates

Submission deadline: May 09, 2011
Notification of decision: July 11, 2011
Preproceedings version deadline: July 25, 2010
Workshop: August 11 - 12, 2011

Instructions for Authors

  • Papers must be submitted electronically. Details about the submission process will be given on the conference web site.
  • The submission must be anonymous, with no author names, affiliations, acknowledgments, or obvious references.
  • The length of the submission should be at most 12 pages excluding bibliography and appendices. It should be in single-column format, use at least 11-point fonts, and have reasonable margins. The total length should not exceed 18 pages.
  • The submission must be written in English, should begin with a title, a short abstract, and a list of keywords. The introduction should summarize the contributions of the paper at a level appropriate for a non-specialist reader. Committee members are not required to read appendices; the paper should be intelligible without them.
  • As the conference proceedings will be published by Springer, we recommend that the submission be typeset using LaTeX and the LNCS style available from the Springer web site (, follow the "For Authors" link). Submissions should be in PDF (a .pdf file) or PostScript (a .ps file) format.
  • If at all possible, the paper should use Type 1 (outline) fonts rather than Type 3 (bitmap) fonts.

Submissions not meeting these guidelines risk rejection without consideration of their merits. Neither late submissions, submissions by email, nor hardcopy submissions will be accepted. Authors unable to submit electronically or who cannot use LaTeX should contact the co-chairs by April 29, 2011. Authors of accepted papers must guarantee that their paper will be presented at the workshop.


A limited number of stipends are available to those unable to obtain funding to attend the workshop. Students, whose papers are accepted and who will present the paper themselves are encouraged
to apply if such assistance is needed. Requests for stipends should be addressed to

Workshop General Co-Chairs

Ali Miri Department of Computer Science, Ryerson University, Toronto, Canada
Serge Vaudenay School of Computer and Communication Sciences, EPFL, Switzerland

Publicity Chair

Atefeh Mashatan School of Computer and Communication Sciences, EPFL, Switzerland

Program Committee

Carlisle Adams University of Ottawa, Canada
Mikhail J. Atallah Purdue University, USA
Thomas Baignères CryptoExperts, France
Feng Bao Institute for Infocomm Research, Singapore
Lejla Batina Radboud University Nijmegen and K.U. Leuven, Netherlands/Belgium
Alex Biryukov University of Luxembourg, Luxembourg
Ian Blake University of British Columbia, Canada
Anne Canteaut INRIA, France
Christophe Doche Macquarie University, Australia
Orr Dunkelman Weizmann Institute of Science, Israel
Pierre-Alain Fouque Ecole Normale Supérieure, France
Steven Galbraith University of Auckland, New Zealand
Catherine H. Gebotys University of Waterloo, Canada
Guang Gong University of Waterloo, Canada
Anwar Hasan University of Waterloo, Canada
Howard Heys Memorial University, Canada
Thomas Johansson Lund University, Sweden
Antoine Joux University of Versailles, France
Pascal Junod HEIG-VD, Switzerland
Seny Kamara Microsoft Research, USA
Liam Keliher Mount Allison University, Canada
Stefan Lucks Bauhaus Universität Weimar, Germany
Atefeh Mashatan EPFL, Switzerland
Barbara Masucci Università di Salern, Italy
Mitsuru Matsui Mitsubishi Electric Corporation, Japan
Kanta Matsuura University of Tokyo, Japan
Willi Meier University of Applied Sciences North Western Switzerland, Switzerland
Kaisa Nyberg Aalto University, Finland
Thomas Peyrin Nanyang Technological University, Singapore
Vincent Rijmen K.U. Leuven and TU Graz, Belgium
Greg Rose Qualcomm, Australia
Rei Safavi-Naini University of Calgary, Canada
Taizo Shirai Sony Corporation, Japan
Doug Stinson University of Waterloo, Canada
Willy Susilo University of Wollongong, Australia
Nicolas Theriault Universidad de Talca, Chile
Ruizhong Wei Lakehead University, Canada
Michael Wiener Irdeto, Canada
Adam Young MITRE Corp, United States
Amr Youssef Concordia University, Canada

Download PDF version